Menu Close

Commissioner of Revenue Office

The Land Use values for the next 4 years have been set at the August 20, 2020 meeting. This Commissioner promises to do everything to protect our Land Use Program. The values are listed below on this page.

COVID-19 Information: Our lobby is open and an outside service window is open to the left of the main entrance as you face the building. Please observe social distancing and dress according to the weather if you plan to use the outside service window. Also, we can assist you by phone, fax, mail, email, and via secure drop box located outside our office.

In God We Trust

The Commissioner of Revenue Office is responsible for assessing personal property and machinery and tools within Washington County and for maintaining the County’s real estate and personal property tax records. The Commissioner’s office also spends considerable time working on state income taxes, helping citizens complete their state returns and performing initial processing prior to delivery of the forms to the State Department of Taxation. Other duties include: implementing local programs such as Tax Relief for the Elderly and Disabled Homeowner, as well as validation and re-validation of the Land Use Program. The Commissioner of Revenue is elected at-large for a four year term. Please see links below for access to Frequently Asked Questions about the Office of the Commissioner of Revenue. You can also use E-Services to view property cards or request a change of address for personal property.

State & Federal Income Tax Forms and Instructions are available in the office.

Office Location:
Government Center Building
1 Government Center Place, Suite C
Abingdon VA, 24210

Main Number: (276) 676 – 6270

Office Hours:
Monday – Friday 
8:00am – 5:00pm

Pursuant to VA Code 2.2-3704.2 The Public Information Officer For the Washington Co Commissioner’s Office is Dr. Mark Matney: mmatney@washcova.com  276-676-6270

Frequently Asked Questions

Section 58.1-3518 of the 1950 Code of Virginia states that every taxpayer owning any of the property subject to taxation under this chapter on January 1 of any year shall file a return thereof with the Commissioner of the Revenue for his county or city on the appropriate forms.

Yes, Washington County does not prorate taxes. If the vehicle was owned on January 1 of the tax year, then the taxes are due and payable for the entire year.

Yes, Washington County does not prorate taxes. If you were a resident of Washington County on January 1, you are liable for Personal Property taxes for the entire year.

Only current year taxes can be processed by the Commissioner’s office.

In the event that there is an error on your return or any required information is missing from your return, it is faster and easier to contact taxpayers on a local level. It is also easier for taxpayers who wish to make payments on any balance due to do so locally.

Office Directory

George Price
gprice@washcova.com
(276) 676 – 6504

Chief Deputy Commissioner

shawana facebook

Shawna Cook
scook@washcova.com
(276) 525 – 4267

Deputy / Supervisor / Real Estate / Personal Property

Jennifer Stiltner
jstiltner@washcova.com
(276) 676 – 6505

Master Deputy / Real Estate

Amy Wilson
awilson@washcova.com
(276 ) 676 – 6306

Master Deputy / Personal Property / Income Tax

Greta Rector
grector@washcova.com
(276 ) 676 – 6502

Master Deputy / Personal Property / Income Tax

Caleb Cruey
ccruey@washcova.com
(276) 676 – 6519

Deputy / Personal Property / Real Estate

Timmy Harris
tharris@washcova.com
(276) 676 – 6503

Deputy / Personal Property

Jody McConnell
jmcconnell@washcova.com
(276) 676 – 6526 

Deputy / Personal Property / Income Tax

Elisabeth Todd
etodd@washcova.com
(276) 676 – 6271

Deputy / Personal Property

Chandler Fulton
cfulton@washcova.com
(276) 676 – 6270

Deputy / Personal Property

 Eva Kling
ekling@washcova.com
(276) 525 – 4260

Deputy / Personal Property