Derek Lyall

Derek Lyall

Director Of Elections

Phone (276) 676-6227
Fax (276) 676-6200
Email Derek Lyall

Office of the General Voter Registrar

1 Government Center Pl, Suite A
Abingdon VA, 24210

Office Hours
Weekdays 9:00 am – 5:00 pm

The Office of the General Voter Registrar of Washington County strives to promote the highest level of service to its citizens by providing equitable opportunities to register and vote; and by maintaining accurate records relating to voter registration, elections, and candidates. The Registrar and County Electoral Board are committed to providing each citizen the opportunity to exercise his or her right to vote in accordance with the Constitution of the United States and the Commonwealth of Virginia, and the Code of Virginia thus ensuring fair and impartial elections. The General Voter Registrar is appointed by the Washington County Electoral Board, composed of three members appointed by a majority of the circuit judges of the 28th Judicial Circuit of which Washington County is part.

Electoral Board appointments are based on representation of the two political parties having the highest and next highest number of votes in the Commonwealth of Virginia for Governor at the last preceding gubernatorial election. Two electoral board members shall be of the political party that cast the highest number of votes for Governor at that election. Electoral Board members serve three-year terms and are also responsible for the appointment of officers of elections.

Register To Vote Military and Overseas Voters Request Absentee Ballot
Election District Maps Virginia Department of Elections Writ of Special Election for Town of Glade Spring

2019 General & Special Elections