Phone: (276) 676-6272 or (276) 466-2242
Fax: (276) 698-3406
Email: Fred Parker
Honorable Fred W. Parker
Phone: (276) 676-6272 or (276) 466-2242
Office of Treasurer
1 Government Center Place, Ste B
Abingdon VA, 24210-8484
Office Hours: Weekdays 8:00am – 5:00pm
The Office of Treasurer is responsible for the collection, custody and disbursement of County funds originating from the tax levies and other fees authorized by the Washington County Board of Supervisors. The Treasurer is elected at-large for a four year term.
You can view our Frequently Asked Questions below. You can also use the E-Services link to view Real Estate and Personal Property tax payment history or yearly Real Estate and Personal Property taxes paid.
Pursuant to VA Code 2.2-3704.2 The Public Information Officer For the Washington Co Treasurer’s Office Is Fred W. Parker. firstname.lastname@example.org 276-676-6272 May 9, 2016
Frequently Asked Questions
The real estate tax rate is $0.63 per $100 of the assessed value.
The personal property tax rate is $1.70 per $100 of the assessed value.
The mobile home tax rate is $0.63 per $100 of the assessed value.
First half real estate tax is due May 20 and the second half is due November 20th of each year. All Personal Property is due November 20th of each year. Taxes are considered delinquent May 21 and Nov 21 of each year. Late payment penalty (10%) and interest (10% APR) are added on May 21 and Nov 21.
There is a tax relief program available to citizens age 65 (who meet the required criteria) or the permanently disabled. The taxpayer is required to file an application form with the Commissioner of Revenue’s office from January 1, through May 1, of each year.
All dogs age four (4) months are required to have a dog license. A vaccination certificate signed by a licensed veterinarian must be presented. Code requires dog licenses to be purchased by February 1, each year. Dog licenses are nonrefundable and cannot be transferred.
Female license is $7.00. Male license is $6.00. Unsexed license is $4.00. Kennel license for 20 dogs is $30.00. Kennel license for 50 dogs is $50.00. Three year male license is $16.00. Three year female license is $19.00. Three year unsexed $10.00. Three year rabies certificates must have at least 25 months remaining.
In 2008, the county transitioned to a local license fee, which is billed on your personal property bill in the fall.
Automobile, truck, motor home license is $25.00. Tractor Trailer license is $25.00 Motorcycle decal is $10.00. Recreational vehicle or pull behind trailer is $8.00.
The Direct Payment Program allows you to make payments automatically each month. When you enroll in the program, the amount you choose will be deducted from your bank account each month and applied toward the real estate taxes you specify. You can obtain an authorization form from the Treasurer’s office or call and have one mailed to you. Credit card payments may be made by calling (888)-768-4860 or online at www.webfeepay.com Payments may be made by check or in person anytime during the year. (Personal property taxes are no longer included in this program)
Washington County uses a variety of collection methods allowed under Virginia Code. We use the Debt Set Off program through the VA Department of Taxation to seize state income tax refunds. We also place DMV stops which block all DMV transactions with the Department of Motor Vehicles for all unpaid personal property taxes and vehicle license fees, and we utilize tax liens on wages and bank accounts and also pursue warrants in debt through the court system. Real estate is sold under the Judicial Sale code section through the Courts with all expenses paid by the taxpayer or the court sale.
Yes, your property can be sold for delinquent taxes when delinquent for three years. Real estate is sold under the Judicial Sale “Bill in Equity” code section through the Circuit Court. This is a very expensive process and all costs are borne by the delinquent taxpayer or taken from the proceeds of the sale. The Judicial Sale process requires extensive notification of the owners, lien holders, and legal publications.
The Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998 provides tax relief for any passenger car, motorcycle, pickup, or panel truck having a registered gross weight of less than 7,501 pounds. The vehicle must be owned or leased by an individual and NOT used for business purposes. In 2006, the Commonwealth capped its payment to localities. Each year Washington County is required to recalculate the tax relief percentage based on the state cap and the growth in the number value of vehicles located in the county. For qualified vehicles, your tax bill is reduced by the applicable tax relief percent for the tax year on the first $20,000 of value. If your qualifying vehicles assessed value is $1,000 or less, your tax has been eliminated and the Commonwealth’s share is 100%. You are required to certify annually to Washington County that your vehicle remains qualified to receive car tax relief. Therefore, it is important that you review the information sent to you by Washington County Commissioner or Revenue to be sure that your vehicles are properly qualified. This information may be included on items such as Personal Property Tax Returns or tax bills. If your vehicle is improperly qualified or you are uncertain whether your vehicle would be eligible for car tax relief because it is used part of the time for business purposes, contact the Commissioner of Revenue at (276) 676-6270 or (276) 466-2242.
Individuals making estimated payments should send their first payment to the Commissioner of Revenue by May 1, of each year. Estimated payments 2, 3, and 4 should be mailed to the Treasurers Office. All checks should be made payable to the Washington County Treasurer.
Washington County, VA Office of the Treasury is also a DMV Select Office providing practically all DMV services except drivers licenses.www.dmvnow.comWashington County, VA Office of the Treasury is also a Passport Agent Office processing regular and expideted passport applications.www.travel.state.gov